T-D HS Football

Bedford's bountiful ballots lead to Legacy Bowl win

By: Mike Mastovich

Week 2 included a great electronic vote turnout from 1989 Bedford Bisons supporters.
Bedford fans submitted 1,202 online votes as the Bisons outpointed the 1991 Forest Hills Rangers (735 votes) in their Legacy Bowl match up.
Last week’s other pairing saw the 1988 Johnstown Trojans build a significant lead early, but the 1993 Laurel Valley Rams rallied late in the week. The final tally was 655-529 for the Trojans.

Week 3:
1943 Windber Ramblers vs. 1986 Johnstown Vo-Tech Spartans
Coach: Ray Jones.
Record: 10-0.
Points for/against: 274/40.
Key wins: Johnstown (18-0); Altoona (21-7); Johnstown Catholic (21-6); Conemaugh Township (27-0); Johnstown (19-0); Conemaugh (27-0); Lewistown (27-7).
Key players: QB Nunzio Marino; HB Walt Cominsky; G Joe DelSignore; G Anthony DiMuzio; ; T Joe Campitell; HB Don Thomas; F John Wojcicki; E Gerald Shaffer; C Arthur Toth; T Carl Geisel; Ed Wojcicki.
Notable: Marino and Cominsky were nicknamed “Touchdown Twins,” as Marino had 22 TDs and 136 points, and Cominsky had 13 TDs and 83 points. ... Marino was first-team all-state and started college career at Notre Dame before entering the Armed Service, later finishing college at St. Bonaventure. ... Ramblers beat Johnstown twice at Point Stadium and defeated Altoona at Mansion Park. ... Marino won 1943 Point Stadium Award. ... Windber’s winning streak reached 26 games through 1943.
Johnstown Vo-Tech
Coach: Ernie Fetzer.
Record: 13-0.
Points for/against: 231/56.
Postseason: Vo-Tech defeated Indiana 7-6  for 6-AAAA championship in one of area’s biggest upsets ever; Vo-Tech also won Great IX and Mountain conference titles.
Key wins: Cambria Heights (7-0); Bishop McCort (10-6); Penns Valley (28-7); Bishop Guilfoyle (21-18); Ligonier (27-0); Bedford (14-0); Indiana (7-6).
Key players: TB-DB Brian Rozich; FB-OLB Vince Tomak; DT-PK Alan Wolfhope; QB Dan Delic; DE Chris Mangus; ILB Tom Halza; ILB Pat Adolph; C Steve Swarney; DE Kurt Fetzer.
Notable: Rozich rushed for 1,850 yards and 22 TDs. ... Held opponents to one TD or less in 11 games and had five shutouts ... Allowed only eight TDs in 12 games.
1958 Johnstown Trojans vs. 1972 Conemaugh Township Indians
Coach: Dave Hart.
Record: 11-0.
Points for/against: 302/66.
Postseason: WPIAL Class AA (now AAAA) championship.
Key wins: Windber (36-13); Duquesne (26-0); McKeesport (26-0); Monessen (39-19); Altoona (20-14); Har-Brack (28-7); Johnstown Catholic (41-0); Clairton (3-0).
Key players: LG-PK George Azar; LT Ed Adamchik; C Dean Stump; RG Jerry Davitch; TE Bernie Solich; RB Bob Bambino; QB Tom Runyon; TE Dave Audi; RT Norm Audi; RB Woody Barnette.
Notable: Posted six shutouts. ... George Azar’s field goal provided winning points in WPIAL title game against Clariton in front of 11,911 fans at Pitt Stadium. ... Seven future Division I college players. ... Adamchik played in NFL. ... Davitch coached at Division I college level. ... Azar was a NFL executive with Philadelphia Eagles.
Conemaugh Township
Coach: Joe Badaczewski.
Record: 9-0.
Points for/against: 294/43.
Postseason: Mountain Conference champion.
Key wins: North Star (21-0); Conemaugh Valley (40-14); Central Cambria (46-0); Westmont (42-0); Windber (28-0); Ligonier (34-18); Richland (54-0); Somerset (28-11).
Key players: QB-LB Ron Hostetler; WR-DB Don Byer; RB-LB George Miller; RB Jeff Bruce; WR-DB Doug Springer; C-DE Jeff Chynoweth; OL-DL Bruce Holsopple; Frank Smaila; OL-LB Joe Summits.
Notable: Badaczewski was Cambria Area Football Coaches Association Coach of the Year. ... Chynoweth was AP All-State Third Team Center. ... Township had five shutouts. ... Hostetler passed for 1,227 yards and 16 TDs while completing 60 percent of passes. ... Byer (11) and Miller (10) combined for 21 TDs, 130 points.